FAQs about Ignition Interlock Devices for Alabama DUIs

June 26, 2015

Ignition interlock devices (IIDs) can be an aspect of DUI penalties, as people convicted of DUIs can be ordered by the courts to have IIDs installed on their vehicles for months or longer.

Given that there are a lot of myths about IIDs out there, below, we’ll clear up some of these misconceptions by answering some of the most common questions people have about IIDs for Alabama DUIs.

Answers about IIDs for Alabama DUIs

Q – When do IID requirements come into play for those convicted of an Alabama DUI?

Experienced Birmingham & Montgomery DUI lawyers answer some FAQs about IID requirements for those convicted of DUI in Alabama. Contact us for the strongest DUI defense.

Experienced Birmingham & Montgomery DUI lawyers answer some FAQs about IID requirements for those convicted of DUI in Alabama. Contact us for the strongest DUI defense.

A – According to Alabama law, those who are convicted of a DUI for the first time will usually be required by the court to have an IID installed on their vehicle if:

  • They had a BAC of 0.15 or greater at the time of their arrest.
  • Their DUI case involved an injury-related accident.
  • They refused to submit to a breath test during the DUI stop.
  • They had a child younger than 14 in the vehicle at the time of their DUI stop.

For subsequent DUI convictions, IIDs are usually part of the standard penalties for these people (once their driving privileges have been reinstated, that is).

Q – Where do I get an IID installed on my vehicle?

A – At a state-approved vendor. For a list of these vendors, click here.

Q – How much do IIDs cost and who pays for them?

A – IID costs will vary from vendor to vendor, and the person who has been convicted of the DUI will be the one responsible for covering these costs (though fee waivers may be available in some cases).

Here, it should also be noted that, with IID costs, there are installation fees (which can range from $70 to $150), as well as ongoing maintenance costs (which can be between $50 and $120 every month).

Q – Can I drive a friend’s car without an IID on it after a DUI conviction?

A – No. If you want to abide by the terms of your probation and avoid more legal problems, you cannot drive vehicles that don’t have IIDs on them during the period that the court has ordered you to have one of these devices on your car.

Similarly, other things you can’t do when you have an IID on your car include:

  • Trying to drive drunk, as this will result in a “failed” attempt to start your vehicle, and this attempt will be reported to the authorities
  • Trying to bypass an IID in other ways.

Q – What happens if I fail to comply with my court-ordered IID requirements?

A – When drivers have violated their IID requirements in the following ways, they can have the duration of their IID requirement extended by six (6) months:

  • Breathing into an IID more than four times with a BAC of 0.02 or greater
  • Tampering with the IID
  • Failing to get the IID serviced (or pay the maintenance fees).

In some cases, a failure to comply with IID requirements can constitute a DUI probation violation, and this could lead to far more legal troubles for people.

Birmingham & Montgomery DUI Lawyers at Joe M. Reed & Associates LLC

Have you been arrested for a DUI? If so, you can count on the Birmingham & Montgomery DUI lawyers at Joe M. Reed & Associates LLC for a strong defense and effective help resolving your case as favorably as possible.

To set up a meeting with one of our lawyers today and find out more about how we can help you, call us at (334) 834-2000, or email us using the contact form at the top of this page. Initial consultations are free in most cases, and evening and weekend appointments are available for your convenience.

Categories: DUI Penalties